Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼
Target Groups

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - IRI THESys

Program Board

THESys Graduate Program Board members for the period of 2018-2019 as elected by the members meeting in July 2018 and May 2019.


Jonas Nielsen, Prof. Dr.
Board Member, Senior Scientist

Photo: Gretchen Bakke
Gretchen Bakke, Prof. Dr.

Board Member, Senior Scientist

Photo: Iona Dutz

Board Member, Senior Scientist

Photo: WandererCreative/Pixaby

Board Member, Post-Doc

Board Member, PhD representative 

Board Member, PhD representative


Who is the board?

The THESys Graduate Program Board consists of the members of three status groups:

(1) three professors or researchers holding a post-doctoral qualification who are members of IRI THESys and the THESys Graduate Program,

(2) one academic staff member of the IRI THESys holding a doctoral degree,

(3) one or two representative of the programme members pursuing a doctoral degree.


The role of the board in the acceptance of new doctoral researchers

Acceptance as a programme member pursuing a doctoral degree is decided by the THESys Graduate Program Board in a transparent procedure according to the following criteria:

(a) academic excellence, usually proven by an outstanding university degree

(b) the level of innovation and adaptability of the doctoral project with regard to the the IRI THESys fields of research,

(c) pre-existing skills or exceptional motivation, which bode well for successful completion of doctoral studies and

(d) very good knowledge of English.

What are the tasks of the board?

The Graduate Programme Board is elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years.

The Board makes decision on important affairs regarding the programme that are not the responsibility of other HU bodies. In particular, these include:

  • awarding scholarships/fellowships i.e. assuming course fees using doctoral degree programme funds according to set procedures and criteria,
  • admission and exclusion of programme members,
  • the overall planning of the programme and finances,
  • the development of the research training programme.