Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - IRI THESys

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Projects | IRI THESys | News | THESys Award 2018: five winners awarded

THESys Award 2018: five winners awarded

On 31 January 2019, five young researchers were awarded the THESys Award 2018 for their outstanding Bachelor and Master theses. Congratulations!

The five prize winners came form Geography, Agricultural Sciences and European Ethnology. The award ceremony took place during the lecture series of the student-driven Sustainability Office.   


1st prize for Heindriken Margarete Dahlmann

Criticality of blue virtual water imports of agricultural products for cities. Analysis for Berlin and Amman from 1998-2002

Geograhpy Department
Supervisor: Dieter Gerten

2nd prize for Thomas Betzold

Biochar from water hyacinth – turning a plague into a resource

Geograhpy Department
Supervisors: Tobias Krüger / Dörthe Tetzlaff


1st prize for Lea Ottilie Fink

What drives firms to successfully cooperate on climate change? - an institutional analysis of the Science Based Targets initiative

Albrecht Daniel Thaer-Institute of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences
Supervisor: Klaus Eisenack

2nd prize for Anja Klein

Knowledge Practices in the Modelling of “Socio-Ecological Coevolutions“ - On Simplification, Experimentation, Visualization and Alignment

Institute of European Ethnology
Supervisors: Jörg Niewöhner / Tobias Krüger

2nd prize for Mariana Cerca

Critical Discourse Analysis of Social Sustainability in Agriculture: The Political Discourses on Biofuels in Brazil and Germany

Albrecht Daniel Thaer-Institute of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences
Supervisor: Bettina König

More information

Since 2015, the IRI THESys awards prizes for theses in the field of human-environmental research. The THESys Award is given in two categories, i.e. bachelor and master thesis, with first and second prize each. The award ceremony takes place every winter term with graduates from the previous two semesters.

Photo (from left to right): Anja Klein, Heindriken Margarete Dahlmann, Lea Ottilie Fink and Mariana Cerca.